West Ham name Premier League Asia Trophy squad

Manuel Pellegrini


West Ham United have named a 23-man squad for the Premier League Asia Trophy in China.

Hammer of the Year Lukasz Fabianski and runner-up Declan Rice, who returned to pre-season training on Monday will both make the trip to China, as will summer signings Roberto and David Martin.

Alongside a senior group led by captain Mark Noble, Manuel Pellegrini’s squad also includes Academy graduates Josh Cullen and Ben Johnson, who have impressed during the opening week of pre-season training in Switzerland.

Chicharito and Yarmolenko to change squad numbers

Chicharito and Andriy Yarmolenko will both wear new numbers on their backs at the Asia Trophy, with the Mexico striker taking No9 and the Ukraine forward sporting the No7, changing from Nos17 and 20 respectively.

Pablo Fornals, Fabian Balbuena and Arthur Masuaku have been given time off following a busy summer of international commitments with Spain U21s, Paraguay and DR Congo respectively, and will link up with the squad on their return to Rush Green on 22 July.

West Ham are one of four clubs taking part in the Premier League’s biennial summer tournament, with Manchester City, Newcastle United and Wolverhampton Wanderers also involved.

After flying to China this coming weekend, the Hammers will kick-off against Pep Guardiola’s treble winners at Nanjing Olympic Sports Center on Wednesday 17 July, with Newcastle and Wolves squaring off at the same venue.

The third/fourth-place play-off and final will take place at Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium on Saturday 20 July, marking the first time the tournament will be played in two different locations.

West Ham will travel to China for the second time in their history this summer, having previously participated in the 2009 Barclays Asia Trophy, when they faced Wolves and Beijing Gouan in Shanghai.

Hammers manager Manuel Pellegrini will also return to the country where he managed Hebei China Fortune between 2016 and 2018 and is looking forward to the experience.

He said: “Having managed in China I know how much the fans love football, so we are looking forward to coming to Nanjing and Shanghai to compete in the Premier League Asia Trophy.”

For full ticket details for the Premier League Asia Trophy, click here

West Ham United Premier League Asia Trophy squad: Antonio, Cresswell, Cullen, Diangana, Diop, Felipe Anderson, Fredericks, Chicharito, Fabianski, Johnson, Lanzini, Martin, Noble, Obiang, Ogbonna, Reid, Rice, Roberto, Sanchez, Snodgrass, Wilshere, Yarmolenko, Zabaleta


Women's Season Tickets promo graphic