Numbers Finalised

West Ham have finalised the squad numbers for the coming campaign.

As Glenn Roeder explained last week, Michael Carrick will wear the much coveted number six shirt left vacant by Hayden Foxe while Richard Garcia takes Michael's old number 21.

Jermain Defoe moves to number 9 from 25, Leon Britton goes to 37 from 40, and David Forde goes to 31 from 41.

Apart from the new signings made over the summer - Youssef Sofiane, Gary Breen, Eduoard Cisse, and Raimond van der Gouw - youngsters Billy Mehmet, Louis Riddle, Daryl McMahon, and James Allen are given numbers.

Eleven of the numbered players as of the end of last season have left. These are: Hayden Foxe, Paul Kitson, Sven Andersson, Shaka Hislop, Craig Forrest, Steve Potts, Raggy Soma, Omer Riza, Gary Charles, Adam Newton, and Michael Ferrante.

Anwar U'ddin, widely supposed to have joined Bristol Rovers from West Ham this summer, in fact moved there via Sheffield Wednesday, to whom he was given a free transfer before March's deadline.

The total number of numbered players will increase to 36 when Anton Ferdinand, who signed professional forms this week, is allocated a number.

The numbers are as follows:

1. David James
2. Tomas Repka
3. Nigel Winterburn
4. Don Hutchison
5. Vladimir Labant
6. Michael Carrick
7. Christian Dailly
8. Trevor Sinclair
9. Jermain Defoe
10. Paolo Di Canio
11. Steve Lomas
14. Fredi Kanoute
15. Gary Breen
16. John Moncur
17. Raimond van der Gouw
18. Youssef Sofiane
19. Ian Pearce
20. Scott Minto
21. Richard Garcia
23. Glen Johnson
25. Eduoard Cisse
26. Joe Cole
27. Shaun Byrne
28. Laurent Courtois
29. Titi Camara
30. Sebastien Schemmel
31. David Forde
32. Steve Bywater
33. Billy Mehmet
34. Grant McCann
35. Loius Riddle
36. Daryl McMahon
37. Leon Britton
38. James Allen
39. Izzie Iriekpen