Rice, Souček, Fabiański, Lanzini and Moyes shortlisted for 2020/21 London Football Awards

Declan Rice and David Moyes


West Ham United’s Declan Rice, Tomáš Souček, Łukasz Fabiański and Manuel Lanzini and manager David Moyes have all been shortlisted for the 2020/21 London Football Awards.

Hammers players feature in four categories in recognition of the fine year the Club enjoyed under the guidance of Moyes, who has been nominated for the Manager of the Year award after guiding his squad to fifth in the Premier League.

The Scot is shortlisted alongside fellow Premier League bosses Scott Parker – a former West Ham midfielder – of Fulham and Roy Hodgson of Crystal Palace, Thomas Frank of EFL Championship promotion-chasers Brentford and Emma Hayes, who has led Chelsea Women to the top of the FA Women’s Super League and FA Women’s League Cup glory.

Rice and Souček, whose midfield partnership has been key to the West Ham’s improvement over the past 12 months, have both been nominated for the Premier League Player of the Year award alongside Tottenham Hotspur pair Harry Kane and Heung-min Son and Chelsea’s Mason Mount.

Rice, who has captained the Hammers on the pitch for much of the campaign, is also named in the Young Player of the Year category alongside his close friend and fellow England international Mount, Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith Rowe and Chelsea’s Reece James.

Fabiański’s fine 2020/21 season is recognised with a nomination for the Goalkeeper of the Year award alongside Édouard Mendy of Chelsea, Alphonse Areola of Fulham, Vincente Guaita of Crystal Palace and his fellow Poland international Bartosz Białkowski of EFL Championship club Millwall.

Two outstanding Claret and Blue strikes are among the five shooting for the Goal of the Season award – Manuel Lanzini’s last-gasp leveller at Tottenham Hotspur in October and Sébastian Haller’s acrobatic overhead against Crystal Palace at London Stadium in December.

Elsewhere, former West Ham midfielder Jobi McAnuff is shortlisted for the EFL Player of the Year award at the age of 39 following an impressive season with League Two club Leyton Orient.

Nominees of the awards have been selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Daily Telegraph, The Evening Standard, and talkSPORT.

The winners be announced and presented by former Arsenal Women and England defender Alex Scott during a virtual ceremony on Tuesday 27 April.


21 Training Range