David Moyes and Łukasz Fabiański win London Football Awards


West Ham United manager David Moyes and goalkeeper Łukasz Fabiański have won 2020/21 London Football Awards.

Moyes was recognised for the fine season the Club has enjoyed under his guidance, with the Hammers currently fifth in the Premier League and having reached the last-16 of both domestic cup competitions, with the Manager of the Year.

The Scot won the award ahead of fellow Premier League bosses Roy Hodgson of Crystal Palace, Scott Parker – a former West Ham midfielder – of Fulham, Thomas Frank of EFL Championship promotion-chasers Brentford and Emma Hayes, who has led Chelsea Women to the top of the FA Women’s Super League and FA Women’s League Cup glory.

Fabiański’s own impressive 2020/21 season was recognised with the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

The Poland international, who has kept nine clean sheets and made 94 saves in 31 Premier League appearances, won the award ahead of Édouard Mendy of Chelsea, Alphonse Areola of Fulham, Vincente Guaita of Crystal Palace and his fellow Poland international Bartosz Białkowski of EFL Championship club Millwall.

West Ham players were also nominated in two other categories, with Declan Rice and Tomáš Souček shortlisted for Premier League Player of the Year, and Manuel Lanzini’s last-minute leveller at Tottenham Hotspur in the running for the Goal of the Season award, but all three were edged out.

Nominees and winners were selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Daily Telegraph, The Evening Standard, and talkSPORT.

The winners were revealed and presented by former Arsenal Women and England defender Alex Scott during a virtual ceremony on the evening of Tuesday 27 April.


Away kit sale