David Moyes shortlisted for Barclays Manager of the Month

David Moyes celebrates


West Ham United manager David Moyes has been shortlisted for the Barclays Manager of the Month award for July.

The Hammers boss could win the prestigious award for the eleventh time in his illustrious career, with his ten previous wins ranking him third all-time behind Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger. The 57-year-old has also won the LMA Manager of the Year award on three occasions.

Moyes guided the Hammers to three wins and three draws in seven matches played in July, leading the east Londoners to Premier League safety with a game to spare.

To vote for David Moyes, click here! 

Under the Scot’s management, West Ham defeated Chelsea, Norwich City and Watford, scoring ten goals in the process, and also gained creditable draws at Newcastle United and Manchester United.

Those results saw West Ham collect 12 points from seven matches and pull away from the bottom three.

David Moyes celebrates
July kicked-off with a thrilling 3-2 win over Chelsea at London Stadium, where Moyes’ side recovered from a goal down and conceding a late equalizer to secure victory through Andriy Yarmolenko’s last-minute winner.

The Hammers then drew 2-2 at Newcastle before falling to a narrow and undeserved 1-0 home defeat by Burnley, despite having 21 goal attempts.

Undeterred, West Ham returned to winning ways with a thumping 4-0 victory at Norwich City on 11 July, where EA Sports Player of the Month nominee Michail Antonio scored all four goals.

And Moyes made it back-to-back wins with a 3-1 home win over Watford on 17 July, when three first-half goals took the sting out of the Hornets.

Safety was assured by a 1-1 draw at Moyes’ former club Manchester United, where Antonio was on target again, this time from the penalty spot. And West Ham ended the season on a four-match unbeaten run with a 1-1 home draw with Aston Villa on Sunday.

Moyes’ fellow nominees are Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola, Southampton’s Ralph Hasenhuttl, Tottenham Hotspur’s Jose Mourinho and Manchester United’s Ole Gunnar Solskjær.

To vote for David Moyes, click here! 

Voting closes at 6pm on Friday 31 July, with the winner being announced at 12noon on Wednesday 5 August.

West Ham have had four previous winners of the Premier League Manager of the Month award – Harry Redknapp in November 1998, Glenn Roeder in March 2003, Alan Pardew in February 2006 and Sam Allardyce, who won in both February and October 2014.

Everyone at West Ham United would like to congratulate the manager on his nomination and wish him the best of luck!


Season Ticket renewals open for 2020/21 Premier League season