Fabianski crowned Betway Hammer of the Year


Lukasz Fabianski crowned a superb debut season with West Ham United by being crowned the Betway Hammer of the Year at Wednesday night’s Player Awards.

The Hammers No1 picked up a hat-trick of prizes at the InterContinental London - The O2 - Save of the Season, Signing of the Season, and the big one, Hammer of the Year.

No Premier League goalkeeper has made more saves than Fabianski this term, and by lifting the prize he becomes just the sixth stopper to be named Hammer of the Year after Lawrie Leslie, Phil Parkes, Ludek Miklosko, Shaka Hislop and Robert Green.

And the Poland international was especially thrilled to earn the acclaim of the fans, who voted for the award, in his debut season in Claret and Blue.

Fabianski said: “I’m very happy obviously, and very grateful for all the fans who voted for me. It’s something special, especially in my first season here, so I really appreciate all the support.

“I’m just happy that I’ve been able to perform in the way that they can see me as a good goalkeeper.”

Declan Rice was runner-up in the fan vote for the second year in a row.

Thirteen awards were handed out in total on the night, as the Hammers looked back on their 2018/19 campaign, with Fabianski and Rice each going home with three trophies.

The full list of winners were:

Betway Hammer of the Year - Lukasz Fabianski
Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by BARS Limited - Ronnie Boyce
Young Hammer of the Year sponsored by Volare Aviation - Declan Rice
Goal of the Season sponsored by PIP Electrical - Felipe Anderson v Crystal Palace
Top Goalscorer sponsored by Mulalley - Felipe Anderson and Marko Arnautovic
Best Team Performance presented by the Bobby Moore Fund - Manchester United home
Players’ Player of the Year sponsored by London Event Design - Declan Rice
Save of the Season sponsored by UKG Ltd - Lukasz Fabianski v Manchester United
Signing of the Season sponsored by FRP Advisory - Lukasz Fabianski
The Dylan Tombides Award sponsored by JM Sealant - Ajibola Alese
The Players’ Project Award sponsored by Higgins Group PLC - Robert Snodgrass
Women’s Hammer of the Year sponsored by Rich Energy - Gilly Flaherty
Best Individual Performance sponsored by Peter Rayney Tax Consultancy - Declan Rice v Arsenal home


Lukasz Fabianski with his awards