Team News v Spurs: Cresswell and Snodgrass start, Chicharito returns


Manuel Pellegrini has made two changes to his West Ham United starting XI for this afternoon’s match with Tottenham Hotspur, with Aaron Cresswell and Robert Snodgrass coming into the side. 

The duo take the place of Arthur Masuaku and Pedro Obiang, with the former featuring among the substitutes. 

Striker Chicharito is back in the matchday squad as well, and takes a place on the bench in the Premier League for the first time since September 1.

The Hammers were on the receiving end of a 1-0 defeat at the hands of Brighton and Hove Albion prior to the international break, and Pellegrini has brought two fresh faces into his starting line-up for today’s match. 

Lukasz Fabianski is in goal once again for the Irons while Pablo Zabaleta, Fabian Balbuena and Issa Diop continue in defence. Cresswell joins them, making his second Premier League start of the campaign, having also played in the home match with Wolverhampton Wanderers. 

Mark Noble is in midfield, making his 21st career appearance against Spurs, with the captain joined by Declan Rice, who was named Man of the Match the last time the two sides met in January.

Scottish international Snodgrass is the second change in the starting XI, with the 31-year-old continuing his run of playing in every Premier League match this season. This contest marks his fourth start in the league this campaign.

Felipe Anderson – who has statistically been the most threatening player in attack in the Premier League over the last four weeks – retains his place, as does Andriy Yarmolenko.

Marko Arnautovic is up front for West Ham, with the Austrian looking to add to his four Premier League goals already this campaign. 

Having missed out for a number of weeks due to illness, Chicharito is now back in the matchday 18, with the Mexican on the bench for the Irons. 

Michail Antonio is also on the bench, as is Academy graduate Grady Diangana. Masuaku, Angelo Ogbonna, Ryan Fredericks and Adrian complete the squad.

West Ham United: Fabianski; Zabaleta, Balbuena, Diop, Cresswell; Rice, Noble, Snodgrass, Yarmolenko, Felipe Anderson; Arnautovic 
Substitutes: Adrian, Fredericks, Ogbonna, Masuaku, Diangana, Antonio, Chicharito

Tottenham Hotspur: Lloris, Trippier, Alderweireld, Sanchez, Davies, Sissoko, Dier, Winks, Lucas Moura, Lamela, Kane
Substitutes: Gazzaniga, Aurier, Walker-Peters, Dembele, Eriksen, Son, Llorente

Referee: Martin Atkinson