Team news: Hammers name unchanged team at West Brom

Andy Carroll


Slaven Bilic has named an unchanged West Ham United team for today’s Premier League fixture at West Bromwich Albion.

The Croatian has opted for the same starting XI which began Monday’s 2-0 victory over Huddersfield Town at London Stadium, meaning goal scorer Andre Ayew and the returning Marko Arnautovic will make do with places on the substitutes’ bench.

Joe Hart lines up in goal, meaning England’s No1 makes his 500th senior club appearance of an illustrious career.

The back three will be comprised of captain Winston Reid, James Collins and Jose Fonte, with Pablo Zabaleta and Aaron Cresswell filling the wing-back positions.

Zabaleta has a great record against West Brom, having won nine of the 12 matches he has played against today’s hosts.

Cheikhou Kouyate, who scored in a victory here two seasons ago, and Pedro Obiang will patrol the centre of midfield, with Michail Antonio and Chicharito, who has three goals in five appearances against the Baggies, supporting Andy Carroll in attack.

The No9 is making a record 17th appearance against West Brom, taking the Baggies past Manchester City as the most common opponent he has faced. The striker has netted five goals and registered two assists in his 16 previous games against West Brom.

The bench will be filled by Adrian, Arthur Masuaku, Angelo Ogbonna, Declan Rice, Arnautovic, Ayew and Diafra Sakho.

West Brom manager Tony Pulis has selected Kieran Gibbs ahead of Nyom at left-back, Scotland star James Morrison instead of Jake Livermore in midfield and Northern Ireland regular Chris Brunt in place of Salomon Rondon.

With those changes in mind, it appears the Baggies will line up 4-2-3-1, with Jay Rodriguez leading the forward line.

West Ham United: Hart, Zabaleta, Collins, Reid ©, Fonte, Cresswell, Obiang, Kouyate, Antonio, Chicharito, Carroll
Subs: Adrian (GK), Masuaku, Ogbonna, Rice, Ayew, Arnautovic, Sakho

West Bromwich Albion: Foster, Dawson, Evans ©, Hegazi, Gibbs, Phillips, Krychowiak, Barry, Morrison, Brunt, Rodriguez
Subs: Myhill (GK), Nyom, McAuley, Yacob, McClean, Robson-Kanu, Rondon