FA Youth Cup and Checkatrade Trophy draws made

FA Youth Cup

West Ham United U18s have been drawn to play either Doncaster Rovers or Blackpool in the third round of this season’s FA Youth Cup.

The match will be played at the Chigwell Construction Stadium – the first time in five years the Hammers have been drawn at home at this stage - with the game's date and time still to be confirmed.

Doncaster Rovers and Blackpool will contest their second round tie at the Keepmoat Stadium on 14 November. Blackpool U18s progressed to the second round of the competition with a 3-0 victory away to Bradford City, while Doncaster Rovers produced a superb comeback to beat Walsall 4-3 at home.

West Ham United last won the competition in 1999 when they thrashed Coventry 9-0 over two-legs in a one-sided affair.

West Ham United Youth Cup 1999

Featuring the likes of Joe Cole and Michael Carrick, the Hammers won 3-0 away at Highfield Road and then claimed a 6-0 victory at Upton Park - an aggregate scoreline that remains, to this day, the heaviest in Youth Cup final history.

In the same season, the Irons also won the FA Premier Academy League to claim a League and Cup double.

The Hammers have won the competition three times and are fourth in the overall winners list, with Manchester United leading the way on ten.

West Ham’s U18s will be hoping to pass the third round after having fallen at the same stage last season when they suffered a heart-breaking exit on penalties to Stoke City.

Meanwhile, the draw for the second round of the Checkatrade Trophy was also made on Friday.

West Ham's U21 side have already made sure of progress from their group by defeating Swindon Town and Bristol Rovers, and their trip to Wycombe Wanderers on 28 November will determine whether they or Swindon end up topping the group.

Should the Hammers secure the point they need to finish top, they will travel to League 2 side Forest Green Rovers in the next round.

If they come second in Group D, a trip to Luton Town - who include former Hammers Elliot Lee, Dan Potts, Pelly Ruddock and Marek Stech in their ranks - awaits.