Carroll and Fernandes scoop Player Awards

West Ham
West Ham
West Ham
West Ham
West Ham


  • Andy Carroll wins Goal of the Season prize for his bicycle kick against Crystal Palace at London Stadium
  • Darren Randolph scoops Save of the Season, with Edimilson Fernandes winning Signing of the Season
  • Teenagers Declan Rice and Domingos Quina among the first five winners at  2016/17 Player Awards

Andy Carroll, Darren Randolph, Edimilson Fernandes, Declan Rice and Domingos Quina were our first five winners at the West Ham United 2016/17 Player Awards, brought to you by Betway in aid of the Academy.

Carroll won the Goal of the Season award, sponsored by FRP Advisory, for his unstoppable bicycle kick to clinch the 3-0 Premier League win over Crystal Palace at London Stadium on 14 January 2017.

The No9’s acrobatic effort beat off the challenge of efforts from Michail Antonio, Dimitri Payet, Manuel Lanzini, Winston Reid and Cheikhou Kouyate to win the supporters’ vote.

"I love watching that goal and I love people asking me when was the last time I'd seen it!" Carroll told West Ham TV. "It's been a few days since I've seen it, but I'm happy I won the award and it was a great goal and a great win!

"It's 100 per cent number one in my career. For quality, that's got to be the best goal I've ever scored. We played really well and it was a tough game. We won 3-0 and finished off in style and I was happy to score the best goal I've ever scored!

"London Stadium has obviously got the potential to be one of the greatest in the league. It takes time, like every new stadium, and hopefully next season we will just build on it.

"I thought the noise on Friday gave the lads an extra bit in our win over Spurs. The games we have won were down to the noise from the fans because it gives the lads that little bit extra on the pitch."

Goalkeeper Randolph secured the Save of the Season award, sponsored by Higgins, for his marvellous fingertip save from Jordan Henderson in the 2-2 Premier League draw at Liverpool on 11 December 2016.

The Republic of Ireland international’s miraculous full-length stop was picked by the Claret and Blue Army ahead of his own saves from Manchester United’s Jesse Lingard, a free-kick from Burnley’s Scott Arfield and Riyad Mahrez’s curling effort at Leicester City, as well as Adrian’s wonderful saves from Everton’s Ross Barkley and Crystal Palace’s Connor Wickham, and the Spaniard’s double-save in the UEFA Europa League draw with NK Domzale in Slovenia.

Edimilson Fernandes capped an encouraging season in east London following his summer 2016 switch from FC Sion by being voted Signing of the Season, sponsored by S14 VIP Limited.

The Switzerland international has made 30 appearances in Claret and Blue, the highlight of which was unquestionably his EFL Cup fourth-round winner against Chelsea at London Stadium in October.

To complete the first set of awards to be presented at InterContinental London – The O2, Academy Director and Head of Coaching and Player Development selected Rice and Quina as Young Hammer of the Year, sponsored by Ark Build Ltd, and Dylan Tombides Award, sponsored by Rich Energy, winner respectively.

Rice was picked ahead of fellow nominees Quina and Toni Martinez, while the Portugal U17 international won the trophy for the Academy’s outstanding player ahead of winger Dan Kemp and goalkeeper Nathan Trott.