Payet shortlisted for FIFA award



Dimitri Payet has been shortlisted for The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award 2016.

The West Ham United and France star is one of 23 players in the running to be named the best in the world this year in sporting performance, as well as general conduct on and off the pitch.

Payet, who has already been shortlisted for France Football’s prestigious Ballon D’Or award, where European journalists vote for their world’s best player, has enjoyed an outstanding year with Club and country.

The West Ham United midfielder has enjoyed a stellar year, scoring nine goals and assisting 16 more in Claret and Blue and winning the Hammer of the Year award at the end of his maiden season in east London.

Payet has also excelled for France, scoring six goals and setting up four to inspire his country to the final of UEFA Euro 2016.

Voting for The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award 2016 starts today and closes on 22 November.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016 will be determined through a combined voting process, in which 50% of the decision will be based on the votes of captains and head coaches from national teams around the globe.

The other 50% will be split between an online public ballot with football fans and submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives around the world.

To find out more about how you can vote for Dimi to win The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award 2016, click here.

To keep up with the latest news about The Best FIFA Football Awards, see and

Join the discussion on social media about who should win, please use the hashtag #TheBest.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award 2016 shortlist: Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), N’Golo Kanté (France/Leicester City/Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid),  Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria/Leicester City), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Mesut Özil (Germany/Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City).