On this day - 17 September


Name: Billy Bonds MBE
Born: Woolwich, 17 September 1946
Clubs: Charlton Athletic, West Ham United

West Ham United's all time leading appearance maker, Billy Bonds MBE, is today celebrating his 69th birthday.

The legendary former Hammers defender, who was awarded the Club's first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013, played 663 league games in claret and blue, and twice won the FA Cup during his time at the Boleyn Ground.

Born in Woolwich, his career began in his native south east London with Charlton Athletic, where he turned pro in 1964 and made 95 league appearances before West Ham boss Ron Greenwood signed him for a £50,000 fee in May 1967.

After Bobby Moore departed the Club in March 1974, Bonds was appointed as captain and he led the Hammers to FA Cup glory a year later when they defeated Moore's new side Fulham in the final.

The Hammers went on to reach the European Cup Winners' Cup final the following year, before winning the FA Cup again under Bonds' leadership in 1980.

He passed Moore's West Ham appearance record during the 1982/83 campaign, and although he officially retired in 1984, he would return to the squad and go on to play beyond his 40th birthday, finally calling it a day in the summer of 1988.

Bonds won the prestigious Hammer of the Year award on four occasions, and moved into coaching upon his retirement. Initially youth coach at the Boleyn Ground under John Lyall, stepping up to become manager after Lou Macari departed in 1990.

He twice led the Club to promotion from the second tier, before resigning in August 1994. He would later coach at QPR and Reading, before briefly managing Millwall.

Bonds was awarded the MBE in January 1988.

Classic match

Fulham 1-2 West Ham United
Premier League
17 September 2005

Fresh from winning promotion in the summer, West Ham United continued their encouraging start to life back in the top flight with a London derby victory at Fulham on this day nine years ago.

The Hammers had taken seven points from their first four games, and upped the tally to ten by defeating Fulham at Craven Cottage.

Marlon Harewood struck just after the restart, and a Tony Warner own goal on 52 minutes secured the 2-1 final scoreline for the visitors.

West Ham found themselves in fourth position in the table after this victory, and they would continue to enjoy good form over the season, reaching the FA Cup final and finishing ninth in the Premier League.

Complete record

1921 Port Vale 2-1 West Ham United (Division Two)
1924 Newcastle United 4-1 West Ham United (Division One)
1927 Leicester City 2-3 West Ham United (Division One)
1928 West Ham United 1-1 Cardiff CIty (Division One)
1930 Middlesbrough 2-2 West Ham United (Division One)
1932 West Ham United 3-0 Millwall (Division Two)
1934 Hull City 4-0 West Ham United (Division Two)
1938 West Ham United 4-1 Coventry City (Division Two)
1949 West Ham United 4-3 Grimsby Town (Division Two)
1955 West Ham United 2-1 Fulham (Division Two)
1958 Manchester United 4-1 West Ham United (Division One)
1960 West Ham United 3-3 Blackpool (Division One)
1963 Nottingham Forest 3-1 West Ham United (Division One)
1966 Sheffield Wednesday 0-2 West Ham United (Division One)
1975 Lahden Reipas 2-2 West Ham United (European Cup Winners' Cup R1 Leg 1)
1977 Bristol City 3-2 West Ham United (Division One)
1980 Castilla 3-1 West Ham United (European Cup Winners' Cup R1 Leg 1)
1983 West Bromwich Albion 1-0 West Ham United (Division One)
1988 West Ham United 2-2 Aston Villa (Division One)
1991 Crystal Palace 2-3 West Ham United (Division One)
1994 West Ham United 1-0 Aston Villa (Premier League)
2000 West Ham United 1-1 Liverpool (Premier League)
2005 Fulham 1-2 West Ham United (Premier League)
2006 West Ham United 0-2 Newcastle United (Premier League)
2011 Millwall 0-0 West Ham United (Championship)

Played 25, Won 9, Drawn 7, Lost 9, Scored 42, Conceded 47