Hammer of the Year - A history

Since its foundation in 1957, just 35 players have been voted Hammer of the Year by West Ham United supporters
Whoever wins the Hammer of the Year award will join an illustrious band of just 35 players to have received the prestigious accolade since its inception 58 years ago.
It was the beginning of the 1957/58 season and the members of the West Ham United Supporters’ Club wanted to recognise the outstanding player with an official award.
The first recipient was defender Andy Malcolm, whose form helped Ted Fenton’s side to win the Division Two title on the final day of a memorable campaign.
West Ham would finish sixth in Division One the following season, 1958/59, with ever-present centre-back Ken Brown being named as the second Hammer of the Year. Winger Malcolm Musgrove would follow in 1960.
In 1961, a young Bobby Moore won the first of his four awards at the tender age of 20, while goalkeeper Lawrie Leslie became the first and, so far, only Scot to lift the trophy in 1962.
Moore won his second award in 1963 before picking up further recognition in 1968 and 1970 as West Ham enjoyed the most successful era in their history, winning the FA Cup in 1964, the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1965 and reaching the League Cup final and providing three members of England’s FIFA World Cup-winning team in 1966, including captain Moore and both goalscorers in hat-trick hero Geoff Hurst and Martin Peters.
Indeed, after England striker John Byrne had won in 1964, the World Cup trio would monopolise the award for the remainder of the decade. Peters won in 1965, while Hurst did so in 1966, 1967 and 1969.
Billy Bonds was voted Hammer of the Year for the first time in 1971, picking up further trophies in 1974 and the FA Cup-winning year of 1975. Amazingly, Bonds would pick up his fourth award in 1987 at the age of 40.
The only man to have been named Hammer of the Year on five occasions is Trevor Brooking. After graduating from the Academy, Brooking won the FA Cup twice, scoring the winner as West Ham upset Arsenal in the 1980 final. In total, the England midfielder made 647 appearances, scoring 102 goals.
Brooking was also honoured in 1972, 1976, 1977, 1978 and 1984, and voted runner-up in 1968, 1973 and 1982.
The late 1970s and 1980s saw a new batch of heroes emerge in the shape of mercurial midfielder Alan Devonshire and Academy graduates Alvin Martin, Paul Allen and Tony Cottee. Indeed, the only other non-homegrown stars to win the award during the 1980s were goalkeeper Phil Parkes in 1981 and former Arsenal midfielder Stewart Robson in 1988.
Following Paul Ince in 1989, left-back Julian Dicks emulated the achievements of Moore and Bonds by winning four times, in 1990, 1992, 1996 and 1997.
Ludek Miklosko became the first non-British winner in 1991, while United States-born Steve Potts is the only man to be named Hammer of the Year twice, in 1993 and 1995. In between, leading scorer Trevor Morley was honoured in 1994.
In recent times, the title of Hammer of the Year has been shared around, with the last 15 seasons producing 13 different winners from seven different countries.
Academy graduates Rio Ferdinand, in 1998, and Joe Cole, in 2003, were interspersed by imported stars such as Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, Italian forward Paolo Di Canio, French full-back Sebastien Schemmel, while Argentina star Carlos Tevez was the recipient in 2007.
There has also been room for the veterans to shine, with Stuart Pearce and Teddy Sheringham both winning at the grand old age of 39.
Danny Gabbidon and Robert Green were honoured before Scott Parker completed a hat-trick of awards prior to Mark Noble’s double either side Winston Reid winning the fans’ acclaim in 2013.