Dev Squad set for Hong Kong Sevens

West Ham United’s Development Squad are set to participate in the annual Hong Kong Football Club Soccer Sevens from 29-31 May 2015.

Having last competed in the competition back in 2012, the Hammers will compete alongside fellow English clubs Stoke City, five-time champions Aston Villa, Leicester City and Newcastle United.

The Development Squad will be hoping to extend English sides' recent run of success following Aston Villa (2011), Newcastle United (2012) and Leicester City (2013) being crowned champions.

Notable players who have played in the tournament include West Ham's Anton Ferdinand and Glen Johnson, as well as Gabby Agbonlahor, Marc Albrighton, David Bentley, Sammy Ameobi, Shaun Maloney, Jack Grealish and Rolando Aarons.

Tony Bratsanos, Chairman of the HKFC Citibank Soccer Sevens Organising Committee, said: “We’re excited that West Ham will be coming back after a brief break, as they were a very popular side when they played here, and we’re also proud that we were able to secure Stoke City for their tournament debut. Stoke are enjoying a fine season and will be a welcome addition to the Main competition.”

English clubs have won ten of the 15 editions of the tournament since its inauguration in 1999. Aston Villa have won a record five times (2002, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2010), while Blackburn Rovers (1999), Arsenal (2001), Newcastle (2012), Leicester (2013) and Manchester City (2014) are the other English clubs to have lifted the Cup.

There will be match reports, previews and updates on the Development Squad’s progress during the tournament on and across our social media platforms.