On this day - 15 April

Classic match

West Ham United
2-1 Manchester United
15 April 1960
Division One

Ted Fenton's West Ham United upset the form book to topple Wednesday's visitors Manchester United at the Boleyn Ground on this day in 1960.

Victory here was some turnaround, considering the Hammers were still reeling from a 5-0 thumping at Molineux four days previously. On the day, wingers Malcolm Musgrove and Mike Grice were on target for West Ham, while Scottish forward Alex Dawson bagged the visitor's goal.

Manchester United, however, would not have to wait long to wreak revenge, with the reverse fixture scheduled for 18 April. This time braces courtesy of Dawson and Bobby Charlton helped Matt Busby's men to a 5-3 win at Old Trafford.

Incidentally, Dawson would subsequently sign for Preston North End, for whom he scored in the 3-2 FA Cup final defeat to the Hammers at Wembley in 1964. Elsewhere, a then 19-year-old Bobby Moore was in the midst of his breakthrough campaign, as he turned out in claret and blue for just the 15th time here. 

As it transpired, the Hammers' 2-1 win would be their last league success of the campaign, as a further three defeats, (including that at Old Trafford), and a final-day draw with Sheffield Wednesday followed. A tally of 38 points saw West Ham sit 14th come the final reckoning, while Manchester United secured seventh spot.

Complete record - 15 April

2006 West Ham United 1-0 Manchester City (Premier League)
2000 Derby County 1-2 West Ham United (Premier League)
1989 West Ham United 1-2 Southampton (Division One)
1986 West Ham United 1-2 Chelsea (Division One)
1978 West Ham United 3-0 Derby County (Division One)
1974 Southampton 1-1 West Ham United (Division One)
1972 West Ham United 0-2 Liverpool (Division One)
1963 Ipswich Town 2-3 West Ham United (Division One)
1961 West Ham United 1-1 Manchester City (Division One)
1960 West Ham United 2-1 Manchester United (Division One)
1957 Nottingham Forest 3-0 West Ham United (Division Two)
1950 West Ham United 0-1 Cardiff City (Division Two)
1949 West Ham United 4-1 Leicester City (Division Two)
1939 West Ham United 2-1 West Bromwich Albion (Division Two)
1938 West Ham United 0-1 Plymouth Argyle (Division Two)
1933 West Ham United 4-3 Nottingham Forest (Division Two)
1927 Tottenham Hotspur 1-3 West Ham United (Division One)
1922 West Ham United 1-0 Fulham (Division Two)

Played 18, Won 10, Drawn 2, Lost 6, Scored 29, Conceded 23

Wigan Athletic