On this day - 13 April


Name: Alan Devonshire
Born: 13 April 1956, Park Royal, London
Clubs: Southall, West Ham United, Watford
International: England - eight caps, no goals

1980 FA Cup winner and current Braintree Town manager Alan Devonshire (pictured) is today celebrating his 57th birthday.

Devonshire was signed by the Hammers in 1976 from non-league Southall and soon made his first team debut, in a League Cup tie against QPR in October that year.

He would go on to play for West Ham for 14 years, making 447 appearances and scoring 32 goals.

Devonshire won the prestigious Hammer of the Year prize in 1979 and a year later collected an FA Cup winners medal as John Lyall's side defeated Arsenal.

He spent two years with Watford at the end of his career, and has subsequently enjoyed success in management with non-league clubs Maidenhead Town, Hampton & Richmond Borough and Braintree Town.

Classic match

West Ham United 3-0 Wimbledon
Premier League
13 April 1995

West Ham were able to celebrate a thumping win in a London derby duel with Wimbledon on this date in the calendar 18 years ago.

With the top flight reducing in size from 22 teams to 20 the next season, four teams were set to go down and the Hammers went into this game third from bottom.

But three vital points eased their relegation fears and catapulted them up to 17th in the table.

Julian Dicks scored from the spot, while Tony Cottee and Jeroen Boere also hit the target to record a convincing win.

The Hammers were never to sink into the drop zone again that season, as a further nine points from their final six games were enough to leave them safe in 14th.

Complete record - 13 April

2002 Tottenham Hotspur 1-1 West Ham United (Premier League)
1998 Sheffield Wednesday 1-1 West Ham United (Premier League)
1996 West Ham United 1-0 Bolton Wanderers (Premier League)
1995 West Ham United 3-0 Wimbledon (Premier League)
1993 Luton Town 2-0 West Ham United (Division One)
1985 West Ham United 1-1 Chelsea (Division One)
1982 Ipswich Town 3-2 West Ham United (Division One)
1974 West Ham United 0-0 Wolverhampton Wanderers (Division One)
1971 Burnley 1-0 West Ham United (Division One)
1968 Manchester City 3-0 West Ham United (Division One)
1963 West Ham United 2-0 Leicester City (Division One)
1959 West Ham United 0-0 Luton Town (Division One)
1957 West Ham United 1-0 Bury (Division Two)
1936 Leicester City 1-1 West Ham United (Division Two)
1935 Notts County 2-0 West Ham United (Division Two)
1929 The Wednesday 6-0 West Ham United (Division One)
1925 Liverpool 1-0 West Ham United (Division One)

Played 17, Won 5, Drawn 6, Lost 6, Scored 15, Conceded 20