Duo in top ten player list

James Tomkins and Kevin Nolan have been recognised for their outstanding form this season by being voted into the top ten players in the npower Championship.

The pair were selected in a poll of every npower Championship manager to find the Championship Player of the Year. That award was picked up by Southampton's Rickie Lambert at the weekend, but Tomkins' and Nolan's performances saw them voted in at fifth and sixth in the poll respectively.

Tomkins has enjoyed a fine campaign this season and has formed formidable defensive partnerships with both Winston Reid and Abdoulaye Faye. The 22-year-old was rewarded for his excellent form when he signed a new long-term contract at the Boleyn Ground in January.

West Ham United captain Nolan has had a memorable first season for the Hammers since joining from Newcastle United in the summer. The No4 has bagged an impressive nine goals from midfield so far this season to make him the club's joint highest goalscorer with Carlton Cole.

The full list of npower Championship players is as follows:

1. Rickie Lambert - Southampton
2. Peter Whittingham - Cardiff City
3. Adam Lallana - Southampton
4. Jay Rodriguez - Burnley
5. James Tomkins - West Ham United
6. Kevin Nolan - West Ham United
7. Kevin Phillips - Blackpool
8. Rhys Williams - Middlesbrough
9. Wilfried Zaha - Crystal Palace
10. Chris Burke - Birmingham City