Dev Squad head for Russia

West Ham United's Development Squad will ramp up their pre-season preparations when they take part in the VTB Lev Yashin Cup in Moscow this weekend.

Ian Hendon's squad will fly to the Russian capital on Wednesday before attending the opening ceremony at the Luzhniki Olympic Complex and taking on German side Freiburg the following day.

Friday will see West Ham return to the same venue for a clash with host club Dynamo Moscow. The other group comprises Spanish club Malaga, Turkish side Besiktas and the Mexico Under-19 national team.

Depending on their results in two group-stage matches, the Hammers will compete in the final or a play-off for third or fifth place on Sunday before returning to London on Monday.

The Development Squad that will be travelling to Moscow will contain a mixture of young professionals and second-year scholars, with Callum Driver, Eoin Wearen and George Moncur the only three players with Football League experience. Meanwhile, Sebastian Lletget spent last week training with the first team in Austria and played the full 90 minutes in Saturday's 3-1 defeat by FK Austria Wien.

Development Squad: Jake Larkins, Sam Baxter, Callum Driver, Eoin Wearen, George Moncur, Sebastian Lletget, Paul McCallum, Blair Turgott, Matthias Fanimo, Dominic Vose, Pelly Ruddock, Jack Powell, Kenzer Lee, Declan Hunt, Nigel Seidu, Cheye Alexander, Kieran Sadlier, Taylor Miles, Frazer Shaw, Leo Chambers.

West Ham have never played a competitive fixture in Russia, but the Hammers did visit the old Soviet Union twice for UEFA Cup Winners' Cup fixtures, transferring in Moscow en route to Ararat Yerevan in Armenia and Dinamo Tbilisi in Georgia in 1975/76 and 1980/81 respectively.

For more information about the 2012 VTB Lev Yashin Cup, click here.

2012 VTB Lev Yashin Cup schedule

Thursday 12 July
6pm-6.45pm - Opening ceremony, Luzhniki Olympic Complex
7pm - West Ham United v Freiburg, Luzhniki Olympic Complex

Friday 13 July
6pm - Dynamo Moscow v West Ham United, Luzhniki Olympic Complex

Sunday 15 July
3pm - Fifth/sixth-place match, Luzhniki Olympic Complex
3pm -Third/fourth-place match, Yantar Stadium
6pm - Final, Yantar Stadium
8pm - Closing ceremony