World Cup Hammers

Ahead of Tuesday's final selection of the England squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, a search through the archives reveals that a total of 15 West Ham United players have represented the club at previous tournaments.

Bobby Moore leads the way, lifting the Jules Rimet Trophy as England captain in 1966, while also being named in the Three Lions squad for the 1962 and 1970 tournaments.

The late, great Moore is one of four Hammers to have won the World Cup. Martin Peters and hat-trick hero Geoff Hurst famously combined to score England's goals in their 4-2 triumph over West Germany at Wembley on 30 July 1966.

Less well-known is the fact that Bernard Lama was still a West Ham player when the 1998 tournament began in his native France. Although he did not feature on the pitch, the goalkeeper was part of the 23-man squad that lifted the World Cup in Paris on 12 July 1998.

From Harry Hooper in 1954 to Shaka Hislop in 2006, the club has been represented at ten World Cup finals, with the likes of Robert Green, Valon Behrami, Jonathan Spector and Benni McCarthy set to make that eleven in South Africa next month.

1954 - HARRY HOOPER (England)

Born in Pittingdon, County Durham in June 1933, Harry Hooper signed for West Ham United as a teenager, making his debut against Barnsley on 3 February 1951 at just 17.

Three years later, the speedy winger was named in England's 22-man squad for the 1954 FIFA World Cup in Switzerland. However, Hooper was one of five players left at home on 'standby' by manager Walter Winterbottom and he never won a senior cap.

1962 - BOBBY MOORE (England)

While Bobby Moore's heroics at the 1966 and 1970 FIFA World Cups are well-documented, supporters may be surprised to learn that the Hammers great was an England regular at the 1962 tournament began in Chile.

Just eleven days after making his debut against Peru in Santiago and wearing the unlikely squad number of 16, the 21-year-old started all four of England's matches as they took on Hungary, Argentina and Bulgaria before being eliminated in the quarter-finals by Brazil.


World Cup 1966

The Hammers holy trinity were all vital to England's only major tournament success, with Bobby Moore captaining the side and anchoring the defence, Martin Peters providing thrust and energy in the midfield and Geoff Hurst putting chances away up front.

Skipper Moore was an ever-present, while 22-year-old Peters featured in five of the six matches after being introduced to the side in the second group-stage fixture against Mexico. He would also open the scoring in the final win over West Germany.

Hurst, meanwhile, famously took advantage of an injury to Jimmy Greaves to score the quarter-final winner against Argentina before his unforgettable hat-trick in the final.

1970 - GEOFF HURST and BOBBY MOORE (England)

1970 World Cup

Captain Bobby Moore and Geoff Hurst were both named in Alf Ramsey's squad as England attempted to defend their title in Mexico.

Hurst scored the winner in England's opening group-stage victory over Romania and also started the 1-0 defeat by Brazil and the 3-2 quarter-final defeat by West Germany. Moore, of course, started all four matches for his country, making what has become one of the most famous tackles in football history on Brazilian legend Pele.

1982 - TREVOR BROOKING (England) and FRANCOIS VAN DER ELST (Belgium)

After two tournaments without any West Ham United representation, the 1982 event in Spain provided two Hammers with their sole shot at FIFA World Cup glory.

For Trevor Brooking, then 33, the competition would last just 26 minutes as his one and only appearance came as a second-half substitute in England's frustrating goalless second group-stage draw with the hosts in Madrid.

Forward Van der Elst, meanwhile, was a half-time substitute in Belgium's 1-0 first group-stage victory over El Salvador and the 3-0 second group-stage defeat by Poland.

1986 - FRANK McAVENNIE (Scotland) and ALVIN MARTIN (England)

Alvin Martin was the defender who did not face the challenge of containing Argentina's Diego Maradona in the 1986 FIFA World Cup quarter-final in Mexico City. The centre-back made his only appearance of the tournament in the 3-0 second-round victory over Paraguay, only to lose his place to Terry Fenwick for the Argentina fixture.

Having helped to fire the Hammers to third place in Division One just a few weeks earlier, Frank McAvennie appeared twice at the FIFA World Cup. The Scotland striker appeared from the substitutes bench in the 61st minute of the 1-0 defeat by Denmark and 2-1 loss to West Germany.

1990 - LUDEK MIKLOSKO (Czechoslovakia)

West Ham United goalkeeper Ludek Miklosko found himself as backup Sparta Prague stopper Jan Stejskal as Czechoslovakia reached the quarter-finals of the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy.

1998 - BERNARD LAMA (France) and RIO FERDINAND (England)

West Ham United's fourth FIFA World Cup winner was goalkeeper Bernard Lama, who had joined the club just six months before the tournament began in his homeland. The 35-year-old found his path to the starting XI blocked by Fabien Barthez.

Ferdinand, then just 19, had made three friendly appearances before being named in Glenn Hoddle's squad for the 1998 tournament, where he was kept out of the team by Sol Campbell, Tony Adams and Gareth Southgate.


World Cup 2002

Trevor Sinclair emerged as a star of the 2002 FIFA World Cup for England after replacing the injured Owen Hargreaves in the opening group-stage draw with Sweden before starting against Argentina, Nigeria, Denmark and the quarter-final defeat by Brazil in Shizuoka, Japan.

Exciting youngster Joe Cole was handed a substitute against Sweden, but goalkeeper David James was left out in favour of David Seaman.

2006 - SHAKA HISLOP (Trinidad and Tobago)

World Cup 2006

West Ham United's 37-year-old goalkeeper Shaka Hislop was already a star in Trinidad and Tobago before making his name with some heroic displays at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany. There, Hislop kept a clean sheet in a goalless draw with Sweden before playing well in 2-0 defeats by England and Paraguay.