MLS squad takes shape

The final 18-man Major League Soccer squad has been named for the MLS All-Star game against West Ham United on Thursday 24 July.

In addition to the First XI announced last week, including David Beckham, coach Steve Nicol and league commissioner Don Garber added seven players. Nicol chose Juan Pablo Ángel, Jim Brennan, Christian Gomez, Pablo Mastroeni and Pat Onstad. Garber selected Edson Buddle and Dwayne De Rosario. Brennan, Onstad and De Rosario are all Canadian and will feel at home when the game is played at the BMO Field home of Toronto FC. will confirm the travelling party from east London when the squad depart for Ohio at the end of the week, with the club due to play Columbus Crew in a friendly on Sunday 20 July. Watch out for full text, photo and video coverage of the North American tour including daily reports, training news and exclusive interviews.

MLS All-Star squad
Goalkeepers: Pat Onstad (Houston Dynamo), Matt Reis (New England Revolution
Defenders: Jim Brennan (Toronto FC), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Frankie Hejduk* (Columbus Crew), Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution).
Midfielders: David Beckham (Los Angeles Galaxy), Cuauhtémoc Blanco (Chicago Fire), Dwayne De Rosario (Houston Dynamo), Christian Gomez (Colorado Rapids), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew).
Strikers: Juan Pablo Angel (forward, New York Red Bulls), Edson Buddle+ (Los Angeles Galaxy), Kenny Cooper* (FC Dallas), Landon Donovan* (Los Angeles Galaxy).