Blackburn v Hammers

West Ham United came from behind to win their first Premiership match since December on a rainy evening at Ewood Park. A penalty from Carlos Tevez and a goal from Bobby Zamora were enough to seal the victory after Christopher Samba headed Blackburn Rovers in front after half-time.

Hammers started well, with Tevez firing in a right-footed shot in the first minute but it landed in the arms of Brad Friedel.

Matt Derbyshire put the ball in the net for Blackburn shortly afterwards when the ball fell to him following an aerial challenge from David Bentley on Robert Green but the Hammers keeper was judged to have been fouled and the goal was disallowed.

There were nervy moments to follow when Green darted out of his area to tackle Benni McCarthy but the Blackburn striker eluded him to cut the ball back across the box. The Hammers keeper recovered to clear the cut-back over his own goal.

Bentley was booked in the 18th minute for a late lunge on Mark Noble. From the free-kick Tevez turned on the style, nearly putting Marlon Harewood through with a neat back-heel into the box but the Hammers striker was ruled offside.

Lee Bowyer was booked two minutes later after sliding into Morten Gamst Pedersen. David Dunn found space to fire in a shot after 23 minutes but it flew to the left of the target.

Harewood nearly put the Hammers in front after 27 minutes after Tevez ran onto Green's goal kick and played the ball back across the box. But Harewood's effort bounced just wide of the left-hand post.

Noble then produced a well-timed sliding tackle to prevent McCarthy from having a clear shot on target after a quick break by the home side.

Green produced an excellent save to palm Pedersen's powerful volley over the bar in the 38th minute. Minutes later the Hammers keeper charged Pedersen down again, just doing enough to force the Blackburn's winger's shot inches wide after he burst into the box.

With three minutes to go before the break Reo-Coker was booked for a foul on Bentley.

Hayden Mullins came on for Noble at half-time but less than five minutes after the restart Christopher Samba headed Blackburn into the lead from Pedersen's corner.

In the 57th minute Bobby Zamora came on to replace Harewood and Hammers won two corners in quick succession. But Samba prevented James Collins from getting a header on target from Etherington's second corner. The Blackburn goal-scorer was on hand again minutes later to deny Tevez a clear run on goal after the Argentine striker linked up well with Zamora.

Hammers looked dangerous on the break but Stephen Warnock recovered to hook clear Etherington's lob as it edged towards an empty Blackburn net. Zamora then tested Friedel with a fierce drive from the right flank but the Blackburn keeper held the ball.

In the 70th minute Hammers won a penalty after Brett Emerton brought Tevez down in the box. An altercation between both sets of players ensued and Emerton and Zamora were both cautioned. Tevez struck the spot kick low and to the left of Friedel to equalise.

Zamora and Tevez combined well again minutes later but Tevez's shot was deflected out for a corner as Hammers searched for the winner. In the 76th minute they found it when Zamora's shot was judged to have edged over the line following a scramble in the Blackburn box.

In the 81st minute Ferdinand was booked for pulling back Roberts on the right flank. With seven minutes to go Bentley fired in a shot but Green stopped it with his feet.

Blackburn threw everyone forward, including Friedel, as they searched for an equaliser but in the fourth minute of injury time Bentley was shown the red card after he handballed on the edge of the area. Hammers held their nerve and held out for the win.

Blackburn: Friedel; Emerton, Samba, Khizanishvili, Warnock; Bentley, Dunn, Tugay, Gamst Pederson; Derbyshire (Roberts 65), McCarthy.

Subs: Brown, Henchoz, Ghallagher, Peter

West Ham United: Green, Neill, Ferdinand, Collins, McCartney; Bowyer, Reo-Coker, Noble (Mullins, 46), Etherington; Harewood (Zamora 57), Tevez (Boa Morte, 85).

Subs: Walker, Boa Morte, Mullins, Spector