Spence And Brookes Star For England Under-16s

YOUNG Hammers Jordan Spence and Tony Brookes starred for the England Under-16's as they beat Scotland 2-1 at Kilmarnock's Rugby Park in the Sky Sports Victory Shield.

England surged past Scotland to share the Victory Shield with Wales thanks to an own goal from Ross Perry and Nathan Porritt's winner, despite falling behind within six seconds to an early strike from their determined opponents.

The win will be a boost for the Young Lions after losing out to Northern Ireland earlier this month and it means that the name England remains on the trophy for the fifth successive year.

England Coach Kenny Swain was very proud of his players as they lifted the shield and hoped to be seeing them for many years to come in England shirts.  "I'm delighted with the win and I am very proud of my players and the staff who have worked ever so hard," Swain commented after the match.

"We shot ourselves in the foot with the early goal but we responded brilliantly and thoroughly deserved the victory. 

"There were some real stars for the future out there and I hope they can reach the highest level. I am sure that they all have a great chance of making it in football," he added.  The win for England also denied Wales their first outright victory in the competition since 1949.

England: Gary Woods (Manchester United), Moses Barnett (Arsenal) (Joe Mattock (Leicester City) 40), Tony Brookes (West Ham United) (Nana Ofori (Chelsea) 79), Victor Moses (Crystal Palace) Saulo Asajile (Tottenham Hotspur) 80), Rhys Murphy (Arsenal), Nathan Porritt (Middlesbrough), Danny Rose (Leeds United), Jordan Spence (West Ham United), Tom Taiwo (Leeds United), Liam Darville (Leeds United), Jonathan Franks (Middlesbrough)
Subs not used: Ashley Chambers (Leicester City), Steven Clancy (Aston Villa),  Henri Lansbury (Arsenal), Jason Steele (Middlesbrough), Michael Wood (Leeds United)

Scotland: Steven Coutts, Jonathan Crawford, Nicholas Gallacher (Craig McShea 52), Christopher Malone, Ross Perry, John Fleck (Alistair Park  40),  Carlo Monti, Oliver Russell, Stephen Stirling, David Wotherspoon, Gary Glen (Daniel Galbraith 60), Michael Graham,
Subs: James Gilpin, Kenneth Waugh, Callum McKinlay,