Hammer Of The Year

Matthew Etherington has won the Hammer of the year award as voted by supporters - while Michael Carrick is runner-up.

Team captain Christian Dailly, speaking following the presentation of the awards to the pair at the Supporters' club on Thursday, says:

"Mattie has done well all season; that left hand side position is not an easy one to play and he plays it so well.

"When he hasn't played for us we have missed the width he gives us down that side.

"He is a worthy winner and well done to him.

"Michael has had a decent season as well; he has obviously missed quite a bit of it but he has come on after Christmas and it is great for him too."

Several of the first team squad, Alan Pardew, Peter Grant, vice chairman Martin Cearns and MD Paul Aldridge attended the event.