FA Cup

Emirates FA Cup third-round draw - All You Need To Know

West Ham United will kick-off their challenge on a fourth front in early January, when the 2021/22 Emirates FA Cup reaches its third round stage.

The Irons reached the fifth round last season before being edged out 1-0 by Manchester United in extra-time on a bitterly cold night at Old Trafford.

West Ham, of course, are three-time winners of the FA Cup, lifting the trophy in 1964, 1975 and 1980, and also reached the final in 1923 and 2006.

However, the Hammers have not been past the quarter-finals since reaching that 2006 final, where they were beaten on penalties by Liverpool following a 3-3 draw at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium.

The way David Moyes' men have been performing in the Premier League, UEFA Europa League and EFL Cup this season, though, hopes will be high that we can go all the way in 2021/22.

A favourable third-round draw would certainly help, so here's everything you need to know about it!


When is the Emirates FA Cup third round draw?

The draw takes place on Monday 6 December from 7pm UK time.

Supporters in the UK can watch live on ITV4 ahead of the second round tie between National League Boreham Wood and local rivals and National League South side St Albans City.

Alternatively, fans everywhere can watch the draw via the Emirates FA Cup social media channels on Twitter and Facebook.

If you are unable to tune in, we’ll have news of the draw on whufc.com, our official app and social channels as soon as it is made.


When will third round ties be played?

The third round will take place over the weekend of Friday 7 until Monday 10 January 2022.



Who could we face?

Well, we could face any one of 63 other clubs in the draw!

West Ham United's 19 fellow Premier League clubs have entered at this stage, in addition to all 24 EFL Championship clubs.

In addition, 20 second round winners will also be in the hat, with lower-division EFL and non-league sides eyeing a money-spinning opportunity to upset one of the so-called 'big boys'.

Five non-league clubs are still in this season's competition - National League teams Yeovil Town and Chesterfield, National League North outfit Kidderminster Harriers and the two local rivals who will contest Monday's tie, Boreham Wood and St Albans City.

West Ham faced Kidderminster in the fifth round in 1994, when Lee Chapman's goal was all that separated the Premier League Hammers from the fifth-tier Harriers at the Boleyn Ground.

The Irons thumped Chesterfield 8-1 in the first round way back in 1914, but we have never faced Yeovil Town, Boreham Wood or St Albans City in a competitive fixture.

We could also be drawn to face EFL new boys Barrow or Harrogate for the first time in our history.


What ball number are we?

West Ham United are ball No43 in Monday's FA Cup third round draw.

The full list is:

1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Arsenal
3. Aston Villa
4. Barnsley
5. Birmingham City
6. Blackburn Rovers
7. Blackpool
8. Brentford
9. Brighton & Hove Albion
10. Bristol City
11. Burnley
12. Cardiff City
13. Chelsea
14. Coventry City
15. Crystal Palace
16. Derby County
17. Everton
18. Fulham
19. Huddersfield Town
20. Hull City
21. Leeds United
22. Leicester City
23. Liverpool
24. Luton Town
25. Manchester City
26. Manchester United
27. Middlesbrough
28. Millwall
29. Newcastle United
30. Norwich City
31. Nottingham Forest
32. Peterborough United
33. Preston North End
34. Queens Park Rangers
35. Reading
36. Sheffield United
37. Southampton
38. Stoke City
39. Swansea City
40. Tottenham Hotspur
41. Watford
42. West Bromwich Albion
43. West Ham United
44. Wolverhampton Wanderers
45. Yeovil Town
46. Bristol Rovers
47. Port Vale
48. Morecambe
49. Hartlepool United
50. AFC Wimbledon
51. Wigan Athletic
52. Leyton Orient
53. Cambridge United
54. Mansfield Town
55. Swindon Town
56. Rotherham United
57. Charlton Athletic
58. Boreham Wood or St Albans City
59. Kidderminster Harriers
60. Shrewsbury Town
61. Chesterfield
62. Plymouth Argyle
63. Ipswich Town or Barrow
64. Harrogate Town