Wednesday 27 Oct
Updated Wednesday 27 Oct 18:47
First Team

Team News: Mark Noble starts and Issa Diop makes 100th West Ham United appearance

Diop makes 100th appearance


David Moyes has named a strong and experienced West Ham United starting XI for Wednesday’s Carabao Cup fourth-round tie with Manchester City.

The Hammers host the holders at a sold-out London Stadium, where 60,000 fans will be present to see two of the Premier League’s top four teams battle it out for a place in the quarter-finals.

With his team playing the fourth of seven matches in 22 days, Moyes has made eight changes to the side which started Sunday’s 1-0 home Premier League win over Tottenham Hotspur.

Full-backs Ben Johnson and Aaron Cresswell and midfielder Tomáš Souček are the three players who retain their places.

Alongside them, centre-back Issa Diop makes his 100th appearance for the Club since arriving from French club Toulouse in June 2018. 

Diop’s compatriot Alphonse Areola is in goal, with Craig Dawson completing the back five.

Neither Areola, Johnson, Diop nor Dawson have conceded a single competitive goal in 2021/22.

Captain Mark Noble starts for just the third time in his final season in Claret and Blue, and makes his 534th appearance in total. 

Noble will anchor the midfield alongside Souček, with Manuel Lanzini, Nikola Vlašić and Arthur Masuaku ahead of them.

Andriy Yarmolenko, who scored twice in the Carabao Cup last season and netted in each of Ukraine’s two FIFA World Cup qualifiers earlier this month, leads the forward line.

The substitutes’ bench is nine-strong this evening following a change in the rules for the Carabao Cup fourth round.

Vladimír Coufal returns after missing three games through injury and joins goalkeeper Darren Randolph, birthday boy Kurt Zouma, Pablo Fornals, Saïd Benrahma and Jarrod Bowen, along with Academy prospects Harrison Ashby, Jamal Baptiste and Dan Chesters.


West Ham United: Areola, Johnson, Diop, Dawson, Cresswell, Noble ©, Souček, Vlašić, Lanzini, Masuaku, Yarmolenko
Subs: Randolph (GK), Coufal, Ashby, Baptiste, Zouma, Chesters, Fornals, Benrahma, Bowen

Manchester City: Steffen, Walker, Stones, Aké, Zinchenko, Fernandinho ©, Gündoğan, Palmer, De Bruyne, Mahrez, Sterling
Subs: Carson (GK), João Cancelo, Dias, Laporte, Rodri, Foden, Grealish, Gabriel Jesus, Edozie


Referee: Jonathan Moss


Liverpool ticket promo