Hall of Fame honour for Greenwood and Peters

West Ham United legends Ron Greenwood and Martin Peters have been named in the list of this year's inductees to the National Football Museum Hall of Fame Awards.

Former Hammers boss Greenwood, who sadly passed away earlier this year at the age of 84, is one of only two managers inducted, while 1966 World Cup winning midfielder Peters is joined on the players list by the likes of Liam Brady, Alan Hansen, Roger Hunt, Jackie Milburn, Ian Rush and Gianfranco Zola.

Launched in 2002, the National Football Museum Hall of Fame celebrates the greatest players and managers of all time in English football. Two Upton Park legends already inducted are Bobby Moore and Sir Geoff Hurst, while Liam Brady will join the likes of Jimmy Greaves, Ian Wright and Peter Shilton as former Hammers in the Hall of Fame.

All but one of the living inductees have confirmed their intention to attend the awards ceremony at the Liverpool Crowne Plaza Hotel tomorrow (Thursday, October 19). Ron Greenwood will be represented by his son and Jackie Milburn will be represented by his grandson. The Awards Dinner will be hosted by BBC TV presenters Ray Stubbs and Celina Hinchcliffe.

Paul Dermody, Chair of Trustees for the National Football Museum, said: "We are delighted how our Hall of Fame event grows in stature each year and is now truly established as a premier occasion in the English football calendar. The event in Liverpool on 19th October I think will be our best yet. I am very grateful for the generous support of the Northwest Regional Development Agency, the Professional Footballers Association and the Liverpool Culture Company."

Bryan Gray, NWDA Chair, said: "Sport plays an important part in the cultural life of the Northwest as well as making a valuable contribution to the regional economy. The National Football Museum is one of the region's major attractions and the NWDA is delighted to support their prestigious Hall of Fame event, which continues to raise the profile of our sporting region to a national audience."

At the 2006 Awards Ceremony, the following football legends will be inducted into the Hall of Fame:

In the Male Player category:
• Liam Brady
• Alan Hansen
• Roger Hunt
• Jackie Milburn
• Martin Peters
• Ian Rush
• Gianfranco Zola

In the Female Player category:
• Gillian Coultard

In the Manager category:
• Ron Greenwood
• Arsène Wenger

For further details see the Hall of Fame page at www.nationalfootballmuseum.com

Hall of Fame