Classic match

West Ham United 1-1 Manchester United
14 May 1995
Premier League

West Ham United famously scuppered Manchester United's title aspirations with this 1-1 draw at the Boleyn Ground 18 years ago today.

With Blackburn Rovers two points ahead of Sir Alex Ferguson's side heading into the final weekend, only a win would do for the Red Devils.

The Hammers, 13th at the time, had very little to play for, but took the lead all the same when Michael Hughes bagged only his second goal for the club. Though Brian McClair headed the visitors level after the interval, the all-important winner proved elusive, though not for the lack of chances.

Hammers stopper Ludek Miklosko repeatedly denied Andy Cole in the dying minutes, as Blackburn were crowned Premier League champions, despite falling to a 2-1 defeat at Liverpool.

Marc Rieper v Manchester United

Complete record - 14 May

2005 West Ham United 2-2 Ipswich Town (Division One Play-Off)
2000 West Ham United 0-0 Leeds United (Premier League)
1995 West Ham United 1-1 Manchester United (Premier League)
1985 West Ham United 5-1 Stoke City (Division One)
1984 West Ham United 0-1 Everton (Division One)
1983 Coventry City 4-2 West Ham United (Division One)
1979 Millwall 2-1 West Ham United (Division Two)
1977 Liverpool 0-0 West Ham United (Division One)

Played 8, Won 2, Drawn 4, Lost 2, Scored 13, Conceded 9